Home News Politics Revealed: The Jubilee Senators Appointed To Deal With Waiguru

Revealed: The Jubilee Senators Appointed To Deal With Waiguru

Revealed: The Jubilee Senators Appointed To Deal With Waiguru
Photo: Governor Ann Waiguru(Left) with William Ruto (right).

According to a report by the Standard newspaper on 14th June, some of the members who had served in the committee that impeached Governor Ferdinand Waititu have opted to be out of the committee.

Photo: President Uhuru With Ann Waiguru

The Jubilee senators who will seat on the panel that shall determine Waiguru’s fate are: Gideon Moi (Baringo), Beth Mugo (nominated), Anwar Oloitiptip (Lamu), Mohamed Mahammud (Mandera), Johnson Sakaja (Nairobi) and Abshiro Halaqe (nominated).
On the other side, National Super Alliance (Nasa) coalition senators include Moses Kajwang (Homa Bay), Cleophas Malala (Kakamega), Enoch Wambua (Kitui), Beatrice Kwamboka (nominated) and Judith Pareno (nominated).

Photo:Kirinyaga Governor (left) With ODM Party Leader Hon Raila Odinga at a past function

The embattled Governor Waititu however seems lucky as ODM leaders led by Hon Junet Mohammed came out to defend her against impeachment as the Kirinyaga county governor.
“The plenary gives all the senators an opportunity to engage. The precedent had already been set in Waititu’s case,” said Wetang’ula.
The majority leader in Senate who is serving as the Murang’a Senator revealed that the committee is not final but the decision lies with the Senate who shall determine it’s fate.
“The committee is the best as it gives senators more time to scrutinise the evidence rather than the 67 of us seated in a plenary. Both can be abused but the plenary one is harder. There is less scrutiny in the plenary while the committee one is easier and with more in-depth analysis,” said Mwaura.


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: