Home News Politics IEBC Commissioners Who Will Be Replaced After Uhuru’s Announcement

IEBC Commissioners Who Will Be Replaced After Uhuru’s Announcement

IEBC Commissioners Who Will Be Replaced After Uhuru’s Announcement

The President of the Republic of Kenya, Uhuru Kenyatta has declared four vacant positions of the former commissioners of IEBC.

In a gazette notice which was dated 14th of April, 2021, the president said that the declaration was in line with section 7A(2) of the IEBC Act, 2011.

He said in his own words in the gazette notice that he declares vacant positions of four members of the independent electoral and boundaries commission.

The four vacancies had commissioners Roselyne Akombe, Paul Kurgat, Margaret Mwachanya, and Consolata Nkatha who resigned unceremoniously following the 2017 general election.

Roselyne Akombe resigned just a few days to the general election citing that her life is being threatened, and the other three resigned a short time after the election.

In a joint statement, the three said that they regret to announce their resignation which was with immediate effect.

President Uhuru Kenyatta later in the year 2020, appointed the three as deputy heads of missions.

Nkatha was deployed to Rome in Italy, Kurgat to Moscow in Russia and Mwachanya was deployed to Islamabad in Pakistan.

This vacant positions left the current chairman Wafula Chebukati and the two other commissioners namely Boya Molu and Abdi Guliye staring at a total overhaul.

READ ALSO:   More Trouble For Raila As Ruto's Ally Leaks An Order Stopping BBI Process

The President, Uhuru Kenyatta had signed into law the IEBC (Amendment) Bill No. 3 of 2019 on 28th of October, 2020.

The amended law establishes a selection panel which will oversee the occupancy of the vacant positions at the Commission as well as the future appointments to the Independent electoral Agency.

The new law is also with the criteria for the selection of IEBC Commissioners and has outlined the qualifications of the members of the selection panel.


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: